Content Security Overview

Follow

There are many ways to ensure that Ensemble Video content is only available to the viewers that you want to reach. Taking advantage the Sharing feature could be the first step, but sometimes you need more control of how content can be viewed. Videos can be published to specific users or LDAP groups, and playlists can be restricted to groups, web addresses, or a specific domain/IP address.

This Overview Covers:

Sharing a Video with LDAP Groups

The Groups option in the Publishing tab of the Add/Edit Wizard allows you to authorize specific LDAP groups to view your published content. Viewers will need to log in to view the content, whether they are opening the content through a permalink, an embed code, or portal content.

For content that has already been uploaded, click the Publish button from the Media Library:

publish-button.gif

If you are already in the Add/Edit Wizard, click the Publish tab at the top of the window:

publish-form.gif

Click the Groups option to reveal the groups section. Select the desired Identity Provider, using the drop-down menu. A second drop-down menu will appear, allowing you to select your chosen LDAP group.

LDAP-group-sharing.gif

Sharing a Video with Individual Users

The Users menu allows you to share your video with other users in your Ensemble Video system. Content published with this option will be available in the Ensemble Video Portal as private content for the selected user(s). To begin, click Select Users from the Publish window.

select-users-button.gif

The user search form should now be available:

share-with-doe.gif

Browse the All Libraries list, or refine it using the Filter Users textbox and dropdown menus. For example, you can type part of a person’s name into the Filter Users textbox, click Search, and the All Users list will refresh containing only users whose names contain the entered text. Click the checkbox beside the user(s) you wish to share your content with.

After you’ve made a selection, the user will be added to the Users with Access table:

users-with-access.gif

The Delete button in the right column of the table will remove the user’s access to the content.

Securing a Playlist

The same security options used in content publishing can be applied to an entire playlist. You can also restrict a playlist to a specific domain or IP address, or restrict viewing to a web address. For more information, see the Playlist Access Control guide. Click the Playlists button in the navigation pane to get started.

playlists-button.gif

Locate the playlist that you'd like to restrict, then click Access Control.

playlist-access-control.gif

Click the +Add button to make a new Access Control entry.

playlist-access-options.gif

From here, configure one of the three options:

  • Restrict Viewing with a Login Form Requires "Default" playlist embed code
  • Restrict to Viewers on a Domain/IP Address Requires "Default" playlist embed code
  • Restrict Viewing to a Web Address

Click Save after you've selected and configured an option. You will be returned to the Playlist Security window, where your new restriction can be toggled on and off, edited, and deleted.

playlist-security.gif

0 out of 0 found this helpful