Publishing and Sharing

Follow

External publishing is a key function of Ensemble Video. Publishing content using the Add/Edit Wizard lets you specify one or more ways you want to share and distribute your video.

These steps assume you've already created and uploaded a video to your media library. Haven't used the wizard or uploaded any content? Get started with the Adding a New Video guide.

To Publish a Video Using the Add/Edit Wizard:

  1. Log in to Ensemble
  2. Navigate to the Media Library where the content is located
  3. Click Publish below your video to open the Add/Edit Wizard's publishing form:

publish-first-video.gif

The Publishing Form:

When you arrive at the Publish form, the menu for the Playlists option will be open:

publish-form.gif

Publishing to an Ensemble Playlist

To include your video in one or more playlists, select the desired playlist(s). In this example, we're adding our video to the Educational Videos category inside the Your First Video Playlist.

select-a-publishing-category.gif

Once published, your item will be automatically syndicated to your Playlist(s). If your library doesn't have any playlists configured, you won't be able to create one from this menu.

no-publishing-points.gif

See the Playlists guide to learn how to create and use Ensemble playlists.

When you are done configuring publishing options, click the green Publish button. The Un-Publish button will return the video to its initial unpublished state, where it is only viewable from the Media Library.

Publishing to a Shared Library

The Shared Libraries publishing option allows you to share your video with other Libraries. In the image below, we've selected the Rose Hill Library to share with.

shared-to-library.gif

The users for that library can now visit the Shared Library to view or publish your video:

shared-library.png

Note: a user in another library must grant you permission to share with them before their library appears on your Shared Playlists menu.

Allowing other libraries to publish to your Shared Library

Content cannot be shared from one library to another unless the source library has permission to publish to the destination's shared library.

You can also allow another Library to publish straight to one of your playlists using Direct Publishing.

To allow content to be placed in the Shared Library, first browse to the library that will be shared to.

selecting-a-library.gif

Once there, click the Administration button in the navigation pane.

Click Library, then select the Sharing option.

sharing-permission.gif

In the Sharing window, you select one or more libraries, which will have permission to publish to your shared library.

select-sharing-libraries1.gif

When the desired libraries are selected, click Add to My Shares. You will then be returned to the main Sharing menu, where you can also allow another library to Copy or Transfer content.

allow-copying.gif

In this example, the library titled Ensemble Video can send content to this library's Shared Library. The library titled iTunes can send content to the Shared Library, AND copy content directly to the Media Library.

Sharing Content with Other Users

The Users menu allows you to share your video with other user accounts within your Ensemble Video system. If you designate a user in this section, the selected video will be available in that user's Private category inside the Ensemble Video Portal.

To begin, click Select Users.

select-users-button.gif

The user search form should now be available:

share-with-doe.gif

Browse the All Libraries list, or refine it using the Filter Users textbox and dropdown menus. For example, you can type part of a person’s name into the Filter Users textbox, click Search, and the All Users list will refresh containing only Users whose names contain the entered text. Simply click the checkbox beside the user(s) you wish to share your content with.

After you've made a selection, the user will be added to the Users with Access table:

users-with-access.gif

The Delete button in the right column of the table will revoke the user's access to the content.

Sharing with LDAP Groups

The Groups menu allows you to authorize only specific groups of users to view your media, based on their LDAP group, with a login form. For example, you might authorize only faculty to view a particular video. If you are an Ensemble Video Portal user, viewers on your Portal will have to log in, and will only be able to see the videos published to the LDAP group(s) they’re a part of. If you embed a secured video or send a permalink, viewers will have to log in before they can view the video.

First, select the appropriate Identity Provider, using the dropdown menu. A second dropdown menu will appear, allowing you to select your chosen LDAP group.

LDAP-group-sharing.gif

Sharing to Social Media

With the Social Sharing Tools menu, you can share to social platforms including Twitter, Facebook, Google+, LinkedIn, Pinterest, and email. Clicking on any of the icons will launch a pop-up window with sharing options for that platform.

social-sharing-tools.gif

Publishing to Youtube

Ensemble Content administrators can setup a YouTube feed to publish video content to a YouTube account. This is useful if content administrators want to house their content in Ensemble Video, but also publish their content to YouTube. See the Publishing to Youtube guide for details.

Scheduling

Using the Scheduling form, you can designate a Display After and Display Until date & time. Either or both of these controls may be used, and they will affect all of the above publishing options. Example: if a specific date is set for Display Until for a video that was published to Youtube, that video would not be viewable on YouTube after that date.

schedule-publishing.gif

0 out of 0 found this helpful